arduino serial port

Discussion in 'UDOO NEO' started by chang, Feb 19, 2017.

1. chang

chang New Member

Hi guys:
    I am new to udoo neo, I have couple problems need help.
    I try to load arduino sketch to this board , it will run good . but the sketch will not be kept in the board like regular arduino board does.any body can help?
    I try to create a virtual serial port to have arduino serial monitor to attach to, so I can see the serial port output between A9 and M4 , it never work, anybody have idea? thank you so much.

2. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

Hi chang,
    I suppose you use the external programming method? http://www.udoo.org/docs-neo/Arduino_M4_Processor/Programming_Arduino_M4_from_External_PC.html

It should stick on the Neo. Please check on the Linux side if the file /var/opt/m4/m4last.fw is changed after you uploaded the Arduino sketch.

What happens if you use the internal Arduino IDE? Just use a simple program to test (Blink).

Regarding serial monitor, what do you see when you use the internal IDE's serial monitor?

How do you connect with the Udoo? With direct USB or through something else like wifi or wired network? Because then you have to change the IP address in the configuration.

3. chang

chang New Member

Hi there:
    Thank you for your reply. I did use external programming with usb cable connected to PC. after I load the sketch to the arduino , I could see the tty/mcc port had output by using arduino serial monitor, so it mean the sketch inside the M4 is running good , but the sketch will be reset after power off. I will check the Linux side to see what happen.one more thing , is there any possible to set up a virtual serial that I can load the sketch direct and monitor the output of the M4 core? thank you againe.

4. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer