Microphone read

Discussion in 'Arduino IDE' started by andreiM, Feb 12, 2016.

1. andreiM

andreiM New Member

Hello guys. I'm a very beginner of this whole Arduino programming and using of UDOO. I have a UDOO Quad with latest LUbuntu version, a usual PC microphone with a 3.5mm jack and a couple of leds. As one of my first projects I thought of using the mic as an audio "sensor" and writing a program that listens to the mic and whenever it gets any audio wave, it returns some value that will make the led lit.
    I am pretty familiar with C++ programming but I have no idea if there are any premade libraries/functions to access the pink mic port in Arduino/Python/C languages tho I did some research before writing this thread. Any help would be useful.
    Thanks

2. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

Andrea Rovai and andreiM like this.
  3. andreiM

andreiM New Member

Thank you for the reply the first link is very clear and I understood the idea but still I'm not very sure about how I get the led lit using python, had a look at 2nd link but it doesn't say much. Could you personally explain a bit about the way I can access the led now using python? Or come up with a link. Sorry for bothering I just want to make sure I understand everything.
    Thanks

PS1: is python the easiest/single option? Is there any way to do this only using Arduino IDE?
    PS2: what is the difference between unidirectional and bidirectional programs mentioned in the 2nd link?

4. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

I only know python so I am stuck to that. Besides for a beginning programmer (like me) it is the easiest way.