UDoobuntu Minimal Configuration help/documentation for WIFI et al?

Discussion in 'UDOO NEO' started by ChrisC, Jul 29, 2016.

1. ChrisC

ChrisC New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to Udoo, but i've been around MCUs and Linux for a while. I started trying out Udoobuntu neo desktop, but I found the performance to be pretty terrible, specifically when using the Arduino ID to program the M4. I instead grabbed Udoobuntu Minimal and I've been playing a bit with that, but I can't seem to find documentation on it anywhwere. When they say minimal, they really meant minimal...

Anyway, does anyone know where I can find documentation on (at the very least) how I can set up wifi from Minimal? Is there documentation for any other common tasks that someone using minimal might want to add back in? I've tried modifying some guides for other linux distros, but nothing really seems to work well for that.

Thanks in advance,
    Chris

2. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

3. Andrea Rovai

Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

4. ChrisC

ChrisC New Member

I appreciate that, I actually switched to external programming right after I wrote my initial question, so that has been much better.

I get that minimal is for "experienced" users, but I maintain that there still needs to be at least "minimal" documentation (pardon the pun). I've set up more than a few linux OSes in my time, and most of them headless/terminal only. I actually prefer it that way.

The real issue, however, is that wifi doesn't work out of the box on minimal, and there are no documents or hints as to what we need to set it up. it was simple-ish to figure out how to turn on the eth0 interface, but anyone whose ever tried to set up wifi via the terminal knows that there is no nix-standard way of doing this. It relies heavily on different infrastructures, different programs, and different configuration files, all of which vary from release version to release version of different distros.