Using Udoo with Cintiq

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SuperCrabbyBun, Mar 29, 2017.

1. SuperCrabbyBun

SuperCrabbyBun New Member

hi! I am brand new to tinkering with technology. I have never used such a device before. I was hoping to use it with a Wacom Cintiq to make my own makeshift Mobile Studio Pro/portable tablet. Would you advise it? How does this device work with Windows 10, Photoshop and adobe flash 6? I was planning on using it for 2d animation and high resolution digital illustration.
    Which version would you recommend? I was looking at this one: UDOO X86
    Any accessories you would recommend or ways to configure it to optimize it to my needs?

2. Laura

Laura UDOOer

The UDOO X86 uses an Intel quad core x86 processor that supports the 64-bit instruction set, so you can install the 64-bit versions of your favourite applications, like Photoshop.

With the M.2 slot on the underside of the board, you can add high performance storage which takes up minimal physical space (see the picture on the following wiki page - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M.2).

With regards to choosing a UDOO X86 model, I'd suggest geting the ULTRA, as it comes with 8 GB DDR3L ram.

3. Andrea Rovai

Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome in this community!
    What do you mean by high resolution digital illustration? Especially, what do you mean by "high resolution"?
    For what concerns the tablet, to replicate the tablet experience you have to look for a screen that supports USB touch and power over USB (this latest one in order to avoid the necessity of an additional power supply for the screen).
    Finally, keep us posted about your project! If I were in your shoes I'd also publish it on Hackster.io as a work-in-progress, so to gather feedback and ideas from other makers.

4. SuperCrabbyBun

SuperCrabbyBun New Member