2.4GHz Wireless Mouse Not Working in the login screen of Win10

Discussion in 'UDOO BOLT' started by hhtmp88, Aug 16, 2019.

  1. hhtmp88

    hhtmp88 UDOOer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dear all,

    Anyone experienced the following problems:
    * 2.4GHz Wireless Mouse Not Working in the login screen of Win10
    -- and need to unplug and then re-plug the 2.4GHz USB transceiver to make the mouse working again after login


    * My Hardware/OS Configuration:
    # Udoo Bolt V8
    # 8GB DDR4-2400 SO-DIMM (Corsair Vengeance CMSX8GX4M1A2400C16)
    # 250GB 2.5" SSD (Crucial MX500)
    # USB Type-C PD3.0 Power Adaptor
    # 2.4GHz Wireless Mouse connected to one of the USB3.0 port of Bolt
    # USB Keyboard connected thru the Bonus USB Type-C Hub
    # UEFI BIOS Default Recovery Switch Position: Left
    # OS: Win10 Pro v.1809 64bit (built 17763.678)
    -- Cloned directly from the 2.5" SSD of another Desktop miniPC (AsRock J5005-ITX Mainboard)

    How to solve the problems?

    Thanks!
     
  2. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    580
    Cloned the OS??
    Why not a proper install, this will result in the correct drivers.
     
  3. ccs_hello

    ccs_hello UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    193
    re: need unplug then replug
    Please note there are so many "proprietary" cordless mouse designs that use various method to "bind" the mouse with the accompanying mouse-transceiver-dongle.

    In my experience, especially the $$ ones, they typically pre-shipped with dongle-mouse pre-bundled/bound, no additional work needed. If need to rearrange, a separate re-configuration software or a hidden button is used to re-config.

    The $ ones are everyone's guess. Often times, the mouse will bind to the first dongle when it "sees". It means a complete power down then turn on the UDOO Bolt power will trigger a re-binding process. < --- this is most likely the case that you need to unplug the dongle (means power-down and release the binding; then start-over the re-negotiation)

    How bad is it? Tell a funny story. I used to have a small setup with multiple PCs with the several mice (same mouse make/model.)
    It became a nightmare all depends on the actual sequence how individual PC got powered up, the mouse family is assigned to individual PC "by chance". I have to move the mouse to see which is which "this time this mouse is assigned to that PC". What a fun time!

    $ priced mouse -- > you get what you paid for
     
  4. hhtmp88

    hhtmp88 UDOOer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is just plug and play,
    I don't need any specific driver for exactly the same wireless mouse to work properly on both :
    (a) AsRock J5005-ITX Mainboard with Win10 v.1809 64bit installed on a 2.5"SSD
    -- I exactly clone the Win10 of this SSD for Udoo Bolt.

    (b) A J1900-ITX Mainboard with Win10 v.1809 32bit
     
  5. hhtmp88

    hhtmp88 UDOOer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am not sure if you really described similar scenario as me!

    It is just plug and play,
    I don't need any specific driver for exactly the same wireless mouse to work properly on both :
    (a) AsRock J5005-ITX Mainboard with Win10 v.1809 64bit installed on a 2.5"SSD
    -- I exactly clone the Win10 of this SSD for Udoo Bolt.

    (b) and A J1900-ITX Mainboard with Win10 v.1809 32bit

    No replug is required on (b)!
     
  6. hhtmp88

    hhtmp88 UDOOer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone that can use wireless Mouse without any problems?
     
  7. nophead

    nophead UDOOer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use a Logitech wireless keyboard with a touch pad on Ubuntu without any problems. It also works on my Windows machines. The USB dongle just looks like a wired mouse and a wired keyboard to the OS I think.
     

Share This Page