Cluster question

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Marco Pizarro, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. Marco Pizarro

    Marco Pizarro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi team , The cluster kit - UDOOX86 X4 - Work everyone in standalone or not?
    Additional the NIC Gigaethernet supports 802.1q?

    Regards,

    Marco
     
  2. estebanSannin

    estebanSannin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Marco,
    it is possible to use them alone or all 4 together as a cluster. For the cluster mode, is possible to use OmpSs programming model: https://pm.bsc.es/ompss or if you want, you can use also: OpenMPI, MPI ecc ecc.
    For the support of 802.1q (VLAN) It should be supported.
    I would not say stupid things, but it's a software feature. I use this feature with Linux on all my laptop and computer without any problem.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
    Andrea Rovai likes this.
  3. papman

    papman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm considering the cluster kit.. but how do they connect, any cables between 'em or just the rj45?
    And how does it work, tut?
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
  4. Marco Pizarro

    Marco Pizarro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wait that the cluster connect by cables because with rj45 we lost conector´s for network operations. Addiotanlly some know if this cluster works in active/active mode summarizing the hardware, or every one is backup and only one works at time?
     
  5. Marco Pizarro

    Marco Pizarro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have understood that 802.1q is a feature of hardware because the NIC can read the tags in one ethernet frame, this feature can give the posiblitity of connect more that one network to this board
     
  6. estebanSannin

    estebanSannin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have used many time this feature with all my computer and notebook, just need this simple steps:

    For example on ubuntu:
    Code:
    # apt-get install vlan
    # modprobe 8021q
    # vconfig add eth0 5
    # ifconfig eth0.5 192.168.1.10
    # ifconfig eth0.5 up
    
    In this way I have added an interface where is possible to manage packets "tagged" with vlanid 5
     
    Laura likes this.
  7. System Error Message

    System Error Message New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    If using the network option you can use a managed switch with passive vlans instead. Is the NIC intel?
     

Share This Page