CPU Temp in Linux

Discussion in 'UDOO BOLT' started by Andy Carlson, Aug 31, 2019.

  1. Andy Carlson

    Andy Carlson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi All.

    I received my Bolt last night. I have been watching the temps, because of some of the problems I've seen in the forums. My temperatures, have been great, but I realized that lm_sensors doesn't say CPU temp. I was assuming the K10temp was CPU, and it does go up if I run stress cpu hog threads. Here is a screenshot of my sensors - which one is CPU? Thanks.

    upload_2019-8-30_18-41-23.png
     
    DJVT likes this.
  2. DracoLlasa

    DracoLlasa UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    interested in the same, it seems the k10 (cpu?) and amdgpu-pci :: temp1 (gpu?) run about the same temp when i was doing a 4 thread stress test. it makes sense as they are a single package i suppose.
    is there value in monitoring separately? or will they always be roughly the same
     
  3. Hal

    Hal UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the first sensor is in the Intel WiFi card (it seems to run hotter than the non-stressed CPU), the second is the power adapter, the third is the GPU and last is the CPU. But to be honest I am not 100% sure.
     
  4. DJVT

    DJVT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello @Andy Carlson ,

    would you please tell us which software you are using to check the cpu temperatures? I am using and have to use Ubuntu 18.04 ...
    I tried lm-sensors, but it didn't find any sensors.

    Cheers,

    DJVT
     
  5. Andy Carlson

    Andy Carlson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    I used lm_sensors also, but it was on Fedora.
     
    DJVT likes this.
  6. Zgembo

    Zgembo UDOOer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    25
    @DJVT Just use more recent kernel and you will be able to access ivi sensors;
    Code:
    root@bolt:~# lsb_release -i -r
    Distributor ID:    Ubuntu
    Release:    19.10
    root@bolt:~# uname -a
    Linux bolt 5.3.0-24-generic #26-Ubuntu SMP Thu Nov 14 01:33:18 UTC 2019 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    root@bolt:~# sensors
    amdgpu-pci-0500
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    vddgfx:           N/A 
    vddnb:            N/A 
    edge:         +42.0°C  (crit = +80.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)
    
    acpitz-acpi-0
    Adapter: ACPI interface
    temp1:        +42.5°C  (crit = +99.0°C)
    temp2:        +10.0°C  (crit = +125.0°C)
    
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    Tdie:         +42.5°C  (high = +70.0°C)
    Tctl:         +42.5°C  
     
    DJVT likes this.
  7. DJVT

    DJVT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you @Zgembo,

    unfortunately I am tied to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS and Kernel 5.0 because of some software and hardware I am using.

    Update, acpi works on 18.04 with 5.0 Kernel:

    $ sudo apt install acpi
    $ acpi -t
    Thermal 0: ok, 10.0 degrees C
    Thermal 1: ok, 46.5 degrees C

    idk what Thermal 0 is though. It is 10°C constantly, so probably misinterpreted data...
     

Share This Page