IDE for embedded Cortex M4 other than Arduino IDE

Discussion in 'UDOO NEO' started by MateuszUrban, Oct 31, 2016.

1. MateuszUrban

MateuszUrban New Member

Hi,
    I'm a c# software developer who has recently falled in love with Arduino, and as this continued to grow I invested in UDOO Neo board. However, as I'm very used to tools like Visual Studio/Eclipse, I really miss many features in Arduino IDE (even as basic as viewing project directory structure, or autocompletion). Because I don't have much of experience in embedded programming, setting the low-level compiling toolchain is a hardcore task for me. I'm sure, I would go into the details some day, but at this point I'd be very glad to just have full-blown IDE for M4 embedded development which would help me very much with my projects. Now, there comes my question: has anyone set up development environment other than Arduino IDE and can share his experiences ? What IDEs are you guys using? Maybe you can share some configs with me and the community? I went through this forum, looking for tips, but they just do not create any bigger picture for me.

Thanks in advance,
    Newbie embedded developer :)

2. JackSilb

JackSilb Active Member

3. MateuszUrban

MateuszUrban New Member

Thanks @JackSilb !
    I was actually working with VisualMicro and it worked like a charm for normal Arduino boards. However, UDOO Neo seems to be a bit different, since I cannot upload UDOO sketches compiled with VisualMicro (they're either not working, or report some upload errors). I've went through the docs at http://www.udoo.org/docs-neo/Advanced_Topics/Recompile_MQX_Libraries.html and it seems for me, like these libraries need to be somehow included. Does anyone have an idea how to do this with VisualMicro ?

4. JackSilb

JackSilb Active Member

I see.
    I actually have not tested VisualMicro with the UDOO NEO.