Udoo and OpenCV

Discussion in 'Application & Utilities' started by getinbalcony, Oct 27, 2013.

1. getinbalcony

getinbalcony New Member

Hey

I'm planning to get the quad board for image recognition and processing for robotics applications. Has anyone tried OpenCV on udoo? What's the performance? How many fps could you get on usb camera?

I'm new to image recognition and this is like my first big project! Hope u can help me :roll:

Cheers

2. miousername

miousername New Member

Hi,
    If I'm right openCV are openCL based!
    This platform support openCL so you can compile openCV library to use them for face recognition.

I never did it but if you surf internet you can find some post abou it!

3. lhl

lhl New Member

@getinbalcony I plan on doing some image processing test and have some OpenCV scripts that I will be trying out, however a few caveats.

The current Ubuntu version provided is based on 11.10, which is... old (release date Oct 2011) and the OpenCV packaged with that is *ancient* - 2.1 from June 2010. Looks like the OpenCL module wasn't added to OpenCV until ... 2.3.1? You're going to need to either build OpenCV from source or see if we can get a better version of Ubuntu (raring or saucy would do the trick).

Another thing to note doing a quick search is that the Vivante GPU supports "OpenCL 1.1 Embedded Profile" From this thread:

It's quite possible that the OpenCV OCL module may not work particularly well w/ the Vivante GPU's EP implementation.

Anyway, sounds like good fun. Report back on what you discover! ;)

4. g.cubed

g.cubed New Member

Just wanted to chime in and say I got OpenCV running from source and was able to do a face detection test, but haven't been able to get TBB or sphinx-common installed.

5. NeverCast

NeverCast New Member

Did you build OpenCV on your PC or on the UDOO?
    I'm currently attempting to do it on the device.

6. getinbalcony

getinbalcony New Member

Hi folks, thanks for your answers! ;)