UDOO NEO and Arduino Tentacle shield compatibility?

Discussion in 'UDOO NEO' started by jtoll, Dec 5, 2016.

1. jtoll

jtoll New Member

Hello! I am a noob in the maker world and to udoo neo.

I am interested in using the board to collect data (temperature, dissolved oxygen, electrical conductivity, etc). I came across the Tentacle Shield which is an Arduino Shield designed for 5V compliant Arduino. Is this compatible with the udoo neo? I read in the udoo neo docs that
    udoo neo instead works at 3.3V logic. Could I still run this shield? If not, would the Mini Tentacle Shield be a viable option (it runs at 3.3V or 5V)?

Thank you for your help!

2. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

Both shields are using I2C as communication (the big shield also serial) so they only are using 2 pins from the Neo for communication and 5V/3.3V/GND for power.
    Big shield:
    You can use a logic level converter to be sure nothing gets damaged. Do not plug in the big shield directly on the Neo but use a intermediate breadboard. For serial it is connected to the incorrect pins 10/11, the Neo uses pins 0/1 (Serial0). So you have to rewire them if you use serial.
    The sketches also have to be rewritten because they use SoftwareSerial that is not yet supported by the Neo.

The I2C uses the correct SDA/SDL pins but because of the 5V I would advise to use the Logic Level Converter on the big shield for I2C communication. Perhaps you wil have to rewrite some sketches to select the correct wire/wire1 object.

I think the Mini Shield will fit directly. Perhaps you wil have to rewrite some sketches to select the correct wire/wire1 object. But cost wise I suppose you better use the big shield if you want to measure more than 2 values.

Last edited: Dec 5, 2016
    jtoll likes this.
  3. jtoll

jtoll New Member

Thank you @waltervl for explaining the details and providing suggestions!

The goal of my project is to collect data, write it into a csv file, and upload it to the cloud.