Udoo x86 don't recognizes sata ports

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Francy2040, Jul 13, 2017.

  1. Francy2040

    Francy2040 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good evening,I have a big problem.My udoo x86 don't recognizes the 2 sata 3 ports and the 8gb emmc embedded memory
    Into the bios,there is "Sata port #0 not installed" and "sata port #1 not installed"
    Please help me
     
  2. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    543
  3. Francy2040

    Francy2040 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I attached a WD Caviar Blue 1TB 7200rpm hard disk . This hdd is SATA 3
    I tried to install Windows 10 Pro
    Yes,I followed the official official documentation
    I got this message into the BIOS
     
  4. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    543
    Hi, this hard disk is running on 12V but the Sata power connector on the Udoo X86 is only supplying 5V ( see the hardware user manual on page 30). It is to big for the Udoo to supply power. Udoo X86's are designed for 2.5 inch drives and SSD's which run on 5V only.

    So you have to connect an external 12V Power source to the harddisk and it will run.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  5. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    543
    You have to search on the forum, I believe someone showed his solution for supply 12V to an external hard disk.
     
  6. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    543
  7. Francy2040

    Francy2040 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I'll buy a SATA 12V connector
    @waltervl
     
  8. Markus Laire

    Markus Laire Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    The problem is not that HDD is "too big" for power supply - the power supply of UDOO X86 could easily handle 3.5" HDD, but UDOO devs seems to have just decided they want UDOO X86 to be user-unfriendly.
     
  9. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    543
    A SATA output connector has to carry at least 1,5A also on 12V even if it is not used. So this would increase the total potential power supply that the Udoo X86 has to be able to supply with 50% (from 3A to 4.5A).

    If you only use the Udoo for a NAS then it would be OK. If you attach all other kinds of pheripherals and use the Arduino part etc then the current power supply could be too small (just my assumption, not based on actual calculations.... ). The Udoo team has to make decisions based on the intended use.
     
  10. SteveD

    SteveD Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
     
  11. Markus Laire

    Markus Laire Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Still I find it strange that UDOO did not want to give users a choice of using 3.5" HDD when it would've cost them absolutely nothing (just add trace from 12V input to SATA power), with perhaps a warning to check power consumption of your HDD (mine is 0.45 A @ 12 V, not a problem at all).
     
  12. Maurice

    Maurice Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    87
    I would like to power 4 3.5" HDDs, in order to use one of the UDOO advanced as a NAS. Any easy way to do so?
     
  13. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    31
    Define "easy"?
     
  14. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    31
    Where are you finding 4 HDD(SATA) data connections?
     
  15. Maurice

    Maurice Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    87
    @sirrab In my old Homeserver.
    The power supply is broken, and there is no replacement available. I'd like to get my stuff back and use it again as a NAS and backup server. Saved my day once when we had an 'interpol' hijacker virus.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. itimpi

    itimpi UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    32
    In another thread
     
  17. itimpi

    itimpi UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    32
  18. Francy2040

    Francy2040 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks to all
    I solved buying a new 2,5" SATA 3 SSD
     
    waltervl likes this.

Share This Page