Udoo x86 Ultra: no video output

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Richard, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. Richard

    Richard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!

    I have recieved my UDOO x86 Ultra a few days ago and I can't get it to work no matter what. I connected a USB keyboard, HDMI and then power. The status LED lights up green almost immediately, but I my screen stays blank. I've tested all video outputs (HDMI, mDP1, mDP2) on two different monitors but there is never any picture.

    I would expect to see UEFI/BIOS, but the monitors just go to sleep right away every time. I have tried turning off/on again, resetting, pressing ctrl-alt-del but I just can't get a picture.

    What else can I try?
     
  2. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    Did you install an OS somewhere?
     
  3. wsian

    wsian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try hitting esc key right after boot up.
     
  4. Richard

    Richard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. I am unable to because of this issue.

    I tried rapidly pressing and holding the Esc key for up to 30 seconds. Still nothing.
     
  5. Laura

    Laura UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    155
    Did your reward include a power supply that you're using? or are you using a power supply you sourced yourself?
    Do you have any other peripherals or devices connected, in addition to the keyboard, mouse and display?

    Though I'm not sure what to suggest, other than please open a support ticket @ http://www.udoo.org/customer-care/
     
  6. wsian

    wsian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    7
    There is a small power on / off button besides ir detector. Try to turn off and on.
    Maybe Is the power supply, as Laura suggested.
     
  7. Richard

    Richard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using my own power supply, I didn't recieve one with the UDOO. However I'm using a Li Shin LSE9901B1260 (12V 5A) which should be more than enough to power the UDOO x86. I guess I'll have to open a support ticket.

    I did this multiple times already. LED turns orange (off?) when pressing once, green again when pressing again. Still no video output after that.
     
  8. wsian

    wsian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    7
    Last suggestion is to check the connection to the display port (hdmi, mini dp) on board. The hdmi/usb port are quite tight and have to press a little harder to make sure it is fully inserted. I faced no display issue when I power on the board after re-plugged in all ports and later found out it was due to hdmi not fully inserted.
     
  9. sixi

    sixi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had an similar issue with a Dell monitor (2560x1440 resolution) -> black screen and a power-suspend message. Tryed a very old full hd display and it worked.... perhaps it helps you.
     
  10. Geir Eivind Mork

    Geir Eivind Mork New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had similar issue, connected another screen and also tried to hit esc. might be the esc that did it or the other screen. it's up and running now. going to be headless so it didn't matter what it was connected to.
     
    Triodefreak likes this.
  11. Richard

    Richard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was indeed it.

    Is this fixable with a firmware update? I don't have any of these old screen at home (I do at work fortunately) and I'd like to be able to go into BIOS now and then...
     
  12. JL112

    JL112 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for sharing, i had the same problem here with ASUS screen (2560x1440). Every time i need to modify the BIOS i need to connect it to my TV screen which has only HD resolution.
     
  13. Richard

    Richard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see the boot messages and menu/BIOS after a warm reboot so it seems like problem with the initial modesetting.

    I am using a Dell U2717D connected to DP2 now, though it's the same on all outputs initially.

    When I cold boot the first thing I see is the GRUB menu, then the kernel messages and login prompt.

    After a reboot I can see the POST and enter BIOS settings.
     
  14. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    565
    Here is an interesting discussion about this topic: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/328010-30-bios-screen-blank-screen
    Solutions mentioned:
    - Simple thing I did in my monitor settings that solved all my problems - "HDMI Auto Switch" option set to OFF.
    - Found Workaround for getting in BIOS: Manually wake up my monitor screen, then start PC -> BIOS available!
     
  15. Ganesh

    Ganesh New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem with dell U2515h. Was able to power ON UDOO but couldn't see anything on the monitor.
    Any suggestion how to disable HDMI Auto Switch in Dell monitors ?
     
  16. ttan

    ttan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same issue with my monitors. The work-around was to use my TV's HDMI port (which works) to fully installed Win10. After that, plug Udoo x86 back onto my monitor and it will then recognize the HDMI signals, but only after Win10 boots up. Hope this can be resolved with newer firmware improvement.
     
  17. Tom Barber

    Tom Barber New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm also seeing similar to all of this, if I boot the HDMI monitors switch off, but hitting escape and getting the menu keeps them alive. I don't have a GUI at the end so it might be that in a graphical environment they get switched back on, but in console mode they stay asleep
     
  18. Dennisf1

    Dennisf1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi:
    My problem is similar but not.
    I have successfully installed and configured on the 128gb M2 drive WIn 10 on the Advanced Plus and have used it on multiple occasions for many hours. But on a frequent basis when first booting I see a blank screen. I have a Dell S2490W and I am using HDMI with 1920x1080 default.

    I have tried changing mice and keyboard (USB wired and wireless) and at the moment I can't get the system to boot correctly at all (can't see anything to check). I have tried booting with the HDMI cable unplugged and hit esc and other such suggestions.
    Not sure what I should try now.
    Anything to offer?
    Regards,
    Dennis
     
  19. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    565
    Did you try another hdmi cable? Another hdmi monitor (or TV)?
     
  20. udooer

    udooer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adding to base of knowledge...

    Had the same no-display of boot/bios screens issue with x86 ultra and AOC (mini-displayport-to-)hdmi interface, display resolution of 2560x1440. Ubuntu installed (on the eMMC) would activate the monitor once booted.

    Switching to ASUS monitor with display resolution of 1920x1080, (mini-display-port-to-)hdmi interface, bios screens display while booting.

    (Now if I can just get windows 10 pro successfully installed, it is being problematic, haven't tried since swapping monitors, but about to.)
     

Share This Page