UDOO + Xbee

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Zombie03, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. Zombie03

    Zombie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. peter247

    peter247 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    It should be compatible with any shield which works on the Arduino DUE.
     
  3. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    9
    Confirm, it works.
     
  4. Zombie03

    Zombie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,

    I bought the shield but i'm having problems.
    When i power up UDOO with the shield on, the UDOO simply don't start.
    When i put the shield on when UDOO is already powered up it freezes and i can't do anything anymore, just plug out the power.

    Can you help me on this?

    Thx :)
     
  5. peter247

    peter247 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds like a power problem.
    Try monitoring the 5 and 3.3 volt outputs while it`s booting
     
  6. Zombie03

    Zombie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx!
    You were right,

    With the shield on, the 3.3volt and IOREF pins are both at 5 volts. :s
    What do you suggest me to do?
     
  7. peter247

    peter247 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Xbee`s data lines are not 5 volt torrent , so on normal 5 volt avr arduino you need to fit a voltage divider ( level shifter ) to drop the voltage down to 3.3 volt.
    On the udoo / due is should be very much simpler because the due is design for 3.3 volt, so you should be able just to connect up the data lines without any level shifting .
    The only 5 volt you should see on the shied is for its own 5 volt to 3.3 volt regulator.

    Sound like it needs some configuration
     
  8. Zombie03

    Zombie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the answer, you were right, i just needed to put the shield in 3.3 Volt mode.

    Now i'm with other problem :\. I can't get Xbee to work properly. I tried to use arduino xbee library (https://code.google.com/p/xbee-arduino/) and python xbee library (https://code.google.com/p/python-xbee/) but seems i cant communicate with the xbee module on UDOO. For example, simply executing the following code with the python xbee library i should got an answer with the module ID. Instead the program don't receive any answer and just keeps waiting for something to be returned from the xbee module.

    Code:
    from xbee import XBee
    from serial import Serial
    
    PORT = '/dev/ttymxc3'
    BAUD = 9600
    
    ser = Serial(PORT, BAUD)
    
    xbee = XBee(ser)
    
    xbee.at(frame_id='A', command='MY')
    reply = xbee.wait_read_frame()
    print(reply)
    
    This seems i cant communicate with the Xbee module :\
    The API is enabled an i got an Arduino UNO i can do this without problems with the same shield and Xbee s1 module configuration.

    Thx :)
     

Share This Page