Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by drc85, Dec 30, 2017.

1. drc85

drc85 Member

Hi
    i finally got me a udoo x86 ultra.
    it should arrive this week :D

im very new to all this arduino stuff,
    i just finished my first arduino project... a wemos mini pro led stripe with a webserver...

im planning on doing a ambilight now.. i could find a tutorial for udo but its not like i want my ambilight...
    i would like to add a usb grabber for hdmi sources to it,

i would like to use this set up

udo x86 - arduiono 101
    evil genius level shifter board https://www.tindie.com/products/jasoncoon/wemos-d1-mini-esp8266-level-shifter-mini-shield/
    300 apa 102 led
    usb grabber + hdmi2av
    12v3a powersupply for udo
    5v 20a powersupply for led (or maybe dual power 12v/5v)
    and a 1000capaciator
    and maybe a fuse
    openelec or ubuntu or wind10 with hyperion and kodi

i still have a few questions:

1.when using the level shifter, do i need to put gnd and 5/3,3v also through the level shifter? or is it enough to just put the Data signal through? im a little confused anybody has a sample pic how it should look when i hook up a SN74HCT245N level shifter?

2.im not sure wich os supports hyperion for real time? i was thinking about openelec or ubuntu... but yesterday i read that windows 10 has a linux sub wich also should run hyperion client...

3.i first wanted to power the led and the udo over one dual 12/5v power supply...
    is it better to have single power supplys or is a dual supply good to go?

4.is there a way to switch the ambilight sourche from kodi to usb grabber automaticly as sooon a signal goes inside the usb grabber? also switch back to kodi ambiligh when no usb signal...do the usb grabber method even work with the udo??

5. is there a level shifter shield with resistor for arduino 101 availible?

sorry for all the supid newbie questions
    and the bad englisch...

[​IMG] looking forward to get some help from u guys