[SOLVED] High CPU Load

Discussion in 'Kernels' started by aureq, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. trunet

    trunet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    I applied the patch and it worked perfectly BTW.
     
  2. bilsch

    bilsch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    I submitted a pull request with the change incorporated.

    If anyone is curious, here are the steps:

    git clone https://github.com/UDOOboard/Kernel_Unico.git
    cd Kernel_Unico
    git remote add imx6-dongle https://github.com/imx6-dongle/linux-imx.git
    git fetch imx6-dongle
    git cherry-pick b8a4b014ead3840271b00948b4970051b13e4ff2

    Then build the kernel as described in http://udoo.org/download/files/Document ... 0_2013.pdf

    root@imx6-qsdl:/lib/modules/3.0.35-gdfb7761-dirty# w
    18:45:58 up 2:15, 1 user, load average: 0.49, 0.40, 0.42
    USER TTY FROM LOGIN@ IDLE JCPU PCPU WHAT
    ubuntu pts/0 192.168.1.213 16:31 0.00s 0.38s 0.26s sshd: ubuntu

    Load average is way down and the system seems a little more responsive now too
     
  3. maara

    maara Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: High CPU Load


    Could you please send me your kernel image?
     
  4. bilsch

    bilsch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    Sure, https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/863 ... -dirty.tgz

    To install it, here are the steps:

    1) tar -xzf udoo-quad-3.0.35-gdfb7761-dirty.tgz
    --- warning, creates a dir called 'udoo'
    2) cd udoo
    3) sudo cp /boot/uImage /boot/uImage-old
    4) sudo cp uImage /boot
    5) sudo cp -a lib/modules/3.0.35-gdfb7761-dirty /lib/modules
    6) shutdown -r now

    This kernel is the default udoo config. At least on my board, the sata port does not seem to show the disk ( there is one ;) ). I have not had time to debug it
     
  5. maara

    maara Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: High CPU Load

    Thanks! The load is resolved... :)
    Now I need to dive into the overall slowness of the linaro :-D
     
  6. DracoLlasa

    DracoLlasa UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Re: High CPU Load

    yep confirmed, that was a much simpler way of applying the fix and its working well on my board
     
  7. Taillo

    Taillo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    The patch can be apply in dual udoo ? My load is ~ 2 .
     
  8. aureq

    aureq New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    Hi Taillo

    Technically, that patch should be safe for the udoo dual.
    Would be nice if you could post any feedback on that

    cheers
     
  9. andcmp

    andcmp New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: High CPU Load

    As I see from the feedbacks, the patch works fine so it will be added to the next releases!
     
  10. Lifeboat_Jim

    Lifeboat_Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: High CPU Load

    Yes, no issues at all with this patch - many happy UDOO'ers in IRC have applied this.
     
  11. saidol

    saidol New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [SOLVED] Re: High CPU Load

    Marked thread as solved.
     
  12. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks ;)
     

Share This Page