How to: Setup Qt-Creator

Discussion in 'General Programming Discussion' started by ji11x38, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. ji11x38

    ji11x38 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    It's me again! As alsways, i am doing things with the background of getting computer vision up an running on the udoo.
    Thatfor i am willing to share my experiences on setting up the Qt-Creator!

    So let's go and have fun:

    1. Open a Terminal

    2. Get the needed development tools
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install qt4-dev-tools
    3. Install the Qt-Creator
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install Qtcreator
    [Optional] Install some other stuff you might need
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install cmake
    sudo apt-get install gcc
    sudo apt-get install xterm
    sudo apt-get install git-core
    sudo apt-get install subversion
    4. Add a gcc toolchain!
    -> Go Option -> build&run-> tab tool chain-> ADD
    Now please set
    compiler path : /usr/bin/arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc-4.6
    Debugger : /usr/bin/gdb
    Mkspec : default


    [Unnecessary?!]5. Disable the remote target-setting

    Go to menu help > about plugins ->Uncheck device support remote linux

    Restart Qt Creator
    Go to tools > options TAB > build & run > Qt versions > add /usr/bin/qmake-qt4

    6. You now have a running Qt-Creator on you Udoo! Have fun and keep posting!!

    p.s. i have basically just did what i found here :
    http://qt-project.org/wiki/apt-get_Qt4_ ... spberry_Pi
     
  2. DracoLlasa

    DracoLlasa UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great, thanks for sharing!
     
  3. Mozer

    Mozer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks! this is great!
     
  4. jaeg

    jaeg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    After this were you able to compile OpenCV with "WITH_QT = ON"? I turned both openGL and QT off in order to get mine to compile.
     
  5. ji11x38

    ji11x38 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi jaeg,

    didn't get OpenCV compiling with QT=On either...

    Could anyone try if you can setup a project via a CMakeLists.txt -file please ?
    As soon as i have been selecting run cmake in the process, my Creator crashes leaving only this failure in the terminal:
    Code:
    Object::disconnect: Unexpected null parameter
    -> a bug in qt ? https://bugreports.qt-project.org/brows ... ORBUG-6398
    Don't even know what it means! Really sucks...
    At least i have been able to build OpenCV via terminal but being unable to link it to a project is almost the same as not having any opencv...

    Cool if anybody could help!!
    Regards JI11X38



    Update :
    I finally found out that the problems i am facing are due to a bug in Qt-Creator versions <2.3.0
    (https://bugreports.qt-project.org/brows ... ORBUG-5883)

    What leads to the necessarity of installing a newer Version of the ide! I will take a look what good old googel knows about that and update the how-to later!
    If this turns out to be the soultion, we can say hello to OpenCV !

    An other solution might be passing cmake the compiler it should use. don't know how this is done -> another thing i have to checkout later
     
  6. ji11x38

    ji11x38 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys,
    I have done lot's of research concerning the troubles i had, and can't say that i have found any solution.
    As things look like at the moment, i was right on the bug in qt creator v2.2.1. Since this is the version you might have installed via -apt-get install qtcreator we are stuck on beeing unable to work with cmake...
    If anybody can help out on getting a newer version (as said at least 2.3.0) running on Udoo, i would be really happy!

    compiling the stuff from source might be one way to get there, but i really hope, that we can avoid this.
    I have already contacted the support but did not get any reply. May be that they got a good idea!
     

Share This Page