Udoo X86 Arduino IDE will not connect to board

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Udont314, May 14, 2019.

  1. Udont314

    Udont314 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am attempting to run a sketch on my Udoo X86 built-in Arduino using the Arduino IDE. After opening the IDE, I enter in the sketch and attempt to run it but get the error:

    avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
    avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00

    The OS running on the Udoo is Ubuntu.

    The serial port is set to /dev/tty/ACM0 which is what every tutorial says to do

    The board is set to Arduino Uno. This seems like it may be the problem since I imagine it should be Curie or 101. Unfortunately, none of these options are in the list. Several tutorials explain how to add a core: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Arduino101 and https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Cores However, when attempting to add a core I noticed that my Tools -> Board menu does not include an option to add cores. The board manager options are also missing from the Preferences menu.

    What do I need to do to get the Arduino IDE to communicate with the board? Then after I do get the sketch to run, how can I pull data into Ubuntu? I only need to pull in a voltage between 0 and 3.4 volts off of a GPIO pin, is there an easier way to do this?
     
  2. Udont314

    Udont314 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    Update: I tried the Arduino Web Editor since it has all the boards installed on it. When I try to "Upload and Save" a notification pops up that says "Arduino/Genuino 101 Disconnected" and the error: Executing command: exec: not started. Another status then pops up that says "Arduino/Genuino 101 Connected". The output window shows:


    /home/builder/opt/arduino-builder/arduino-builder -compile -core-api-version 10611 -hardware /home/builder/opt/arduino-builder/hardware -hardware /home/builder/.arduino15/packages -tools /home/builder/opt/arduino-builder/tools -tools /home/builder/.arduino15/packages -built-in-libraries /home/builder/opt/libraries/latest -logger humantags -fqbn Intel:arc32:arduino_101 -build-cache /tmp -build-path /tmp/638114960/build -verbose -prefs runtime.tools.openocd.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/openocd/0.9.0+0.1 -prefs runtime.tools.sketchUploader.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/sketchUploader/1.6.2+1.0 -prefs runtime.tools.nrf5x-cl-tools.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/nrf5x-cl-tools/9.3.1 -prefs runtime.tools.avrdude.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avrdude/6.3.0-arduino8 -prefs runtime.tools.core2-32-poky-linux.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/core2-32-poky-linux/1.6.2+1.0 -prefs runtime.tools.i586-poky-linux-uclibc.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/i586-poky-linux-uclibc/1.6.2+1.0 -prefs runtime.tools.linuxuploader.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/linuxuploader/1.5.1 -prefs runtime.tools.x86-linux-gcc.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/x86-linux-gcc/7.2.0 -prefs runtime.tools.arc-elf32.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/arc-elf32/1.6.9+1.0.1 -prefs runtime.tools.dfu-util.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/dfu-util/0.9.0-arduino1 -prefs runtime.tools.CMSIS-Atmel.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/CMSIS-Atmel/1.2.0 -prefs runtime.tools.arm-linux-gcc.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/arm-linux-gcc/4.9.3 -prefs runtime.tools.arduino101load.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/arduino101load/2.0.1 -prefs runtime.tools.arduinoOTA.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/arduinoOTA/1.2.1 -prefs runtime.tools.bossac.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/industruino/tools/bossac/1.7.0-industruino -prefs runtime.tools.CMSIS.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/CMSIS/4.5.0 -prefs runtime.tools.arm-none-eabi-gcc.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/arm-none-eabi-gcc/7-2017q4 -prefs runtime.tools.flashpack.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/Intel/tools/flashpack/2.0.0 -prefs runtime.tools.avr-gcc.path=/home/builder/.arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/5.4.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino2 -libraries /tmp/638114960/custom -libraries /tmp/638114960/pinned /tmp/638114960/sketch_may15a

    Sketch uses 17632 bytes (11%) of program storage space. Maximum is 155648 bytes.

    Programming with: Serial

    Restarting in bootloader mode

    Get port list before reset

    [/dev/ttyACM0]

    Touching port /dev/ttyACM0 at 1200bps

    Set DTR off

    Flashing with command:/home/myuser/.arduino-create/Intel/arduino101load/2.1.0/arduino101load -dfu=/home/myuser/.arduino-create/arduino/dfu-util/0.9.0-arduino1 -bin=/tmp/arduino-create-agent547521223/sketch_may15a.bin -port=/dev/ttyACM0 -v -ble_fw_str=ATP1BLE00R-1631C4439 -ble_fw_pos=169984 -rtos_fw_str= -rtos_fw_pos=0 -core=2.0.0


    Set DTR off

    Flashing with command:/home/dendemo/.arduino-create/Intel/arduino101load/2.1.0/arduino101load -dfu=/home/dendemo/.arduino-create/arduino/dfu-util/0.9.0-arduino1 -bin=/tmp/arduino-create-agent547521223/sketch_may15a.bin -port=/dev/ttyACM0 -v -ble_fw_str=ATP1BLE00R-1631C4439 -ble_fw_pos=169984 -rtos_fw_str= -rtos_fw_pos=0 -core=2.0.0
     
  3. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hello,
    have you checked out the documentation here? There is also a dedicated guide here.

    Hope it helps!
     
  4. Udont314

    Udont314 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you for the links. I did read over the documentation extensively. I solved the problem by installing the Arduino IDE manually. The version that is obtained via apt-get on Ubuntu is outdated and does not include the board manager. I discovered this when I stumbled across this SO post: https://arduino.stackexchange.com/q...ds-manager-option-is-missing-from-arduino-ide To my knowledge, there is no mention of this in the Udoo documentation. However, if I had followed instructions (install via the the arduino.cc guide) it would have worked first time. Instead, I installed via apt-get...

    After installing I added my user to the dialout group as detailed by the Linux setup instructions https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Linux

    sudo usermod -a -G dialout myuser

    I then started up the IDE and installed the Arduino/Genuino 101 board. The IDE still had issues talking to the board so I used the permissions fix in https://www.udoo.org/docs-x86/Arduino_101_(Intel_Curie)/Getting_Started_with_Arduino_101.html

    sudo chmod +x ~/.arduino15/packages/Intel/hardware/arc32/2.0.4/scripts/create_dfu_udev_rule
    sudo ~/.arduino15/packages/Intel/hardware/arc32/2.0.4/scripts/create_dfu_udev_rule

    For those who run across this issue, these are the references that were helpful to me:

    https://arduino.stackexchange.com/q...ds-manager-option-is-missing-from-arduino-ide
    https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Linux
    https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Arduino101
    https://www.udoo.org/docs-x86/Arduino_101_(Intel_Curie)/Getting_Started_with_Arduino_101.html
     
    EricC and ccs_hello like this.
  5. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hello,
    thank you for the suggestion, we'll update the guide to include the info from this post, and make sure that in the future other people won't have the same issue.

    I'm glad that it's okay now.
     

Share This Page