Audio Output

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Joaquin, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. Joaquin

    Joaquin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I just received my quad version and let me tell you it is very fast and I feel familiar with the linux environment.

    My question is related to, Analog Audio Output (the green jack) is not working, if I connect the Udoo through HDMI audio play wells on the TV but Audio Output (headphones, Aux to stereo, etc) never works. How do I switch from HDMI output to Analog(jack) audio output.

    In Raspberry pi I used to do as it:

    Code:
    amixer cset numid=3 1
    I will really appreciate you help.

    Best Regards.
     
  2. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try to change the audio settings in UDOObuntu. Then it should work.
     
  3. starsword

    starsword New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you change it?
     
  4. fetcher

    fetcher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    20
    Unlike with the Pi, where a single audio device is toggled between analog and digital(HDMI), on Udoo the various sound outputs are independent channels, as on a PC with multiple sound-cards installed. So you could have separate audio playing back simultaneously on analog, HDMI, and SP-DIF, but do have to point your audio player software at the correct one.

    Try 'aplay -l' to list the available PCM outputs, and look for "vt1613" which is the analog-out. Mine looks like this,
    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: imxspdif [imx-spdif], device 0: IMX SPDIF mxc-spdif-0 []
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: imxhdmisoc [imx-hdmi-soc], device 0: IMX HDMI TX mxc-hdmi-soc-0 []
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 2: vt1613audio [vt1613-audio], device 0: HiFi vt1613-0 []
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    
    But I've patched the kernel to add SP-DIF and make it the first/default one (channel 0), so yours will be different. Say your vt1613 comes up second (channel 1, after 0)... you could specify, for example:

    Code:
    mplayer -ao alsa:device=hw=1.0  videofile.avi
    
    mpg123 -a hw:1,0 -r 48000  audiofile.mp3
    
    Specifying sample rate is necessary for mpg123 because the vt1613 analog-output supports only 48kHz, not 44.1kHz or other rates (I think the Pi is the same way)-- most player apps are smart enough to notice this and do the necessary resampling, but mpg123 will instead play 44.1k files back with incorrect tempo and pitch, sort of a mild chipmunk effect.

    Mixer outputs might have to be turned up first, using alsamixer or amixer (e.g. 'amixer -qc1 sset Master 74%; amixer -qc1 sset PCM 74%' assuming it's device #1).

    If you want this output (#1) to be the default in all ALSA apps without having to always specify it, try dropping this into /etc/asound.conf --

    Code:
    pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "hw:1,0"
    }
    
    I'm not sure about Pulseaudio or other audio drivers you might be using besides plain ALSA. Those would have their own config files to edit.

    Hmm, I thought I remembered the vt1613 being audio device #0 (first one), at least on a stock Udoo Debian kernel, but if this were the case your sound should be going there by default. Maybe Udoobuntu switches them around? Anyway, 'aplay -l' should tell
     
  5. starsword

    starsword New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank,
    It says

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    xcb_connection_has_error() returned true
    card 0: vt1613audio [vt1613-audio], device 0: HiFi vt1613-0 []
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: imxhdmisoc [imx-hdmi-soc], device 0: IMX HDMI TX mxc-hdmi-soc-0 []
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

    I was able to play music by setting it to 0 :D but it is still weird how it isn't default
    I found changing /usr/share/alsa/pulse-alsa.conf worked :D thanks
     

Share This Page