BIOS Problem

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Intermez, Sep 4, 2017.

  1. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can't seem to get new BIOS to load. Have an Advanced with Bios 1.1 Running Win 7 and followed the pdf procedures to load 1.3. All seems OK with proper responses and finally says it requires a reboot to finish. Reboot and still only see rev 1.1 on the SCU menu item. I don't know Linux, although have Ubuntu as a boot option....plan on learning Linux but figured now is not the time for it while messing with BIOS.

    Any help would be appreciated as rev 1.3 hopefully will help my fan problem (only runs at startup) and the board periodically shuts down by itself I assume due to overheating.

    Thanks in advance,
    Kevin
     
  2. Maurice

    Maurice Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    87
  3. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, went back a tried two more times. I'm sure I running as admin and the file is writing to memory. It shows I'm updating from 1.01 to 1.03. writes the new file, and asks for a reboot. Still shows 1.01 as the boot version in SCU. Don't know what to try, any suggestions?

    Thanks, Kevin
     
  4. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Now seeing the following ERROR when I run bios_updater_x64:

    Error: INISI 14h read compare fail after write. Address:FF804000
    then it appears to write again and see the same error at a different address: FF804000

    Is this what is causing it not to install 1.03? What do I do now???? HELP??
     
  5. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    561
    Do you use win 7 64b or 32b? You should use the appropriate bios_updater for that.

    If it still fails It perhaps is easier to make a bootable FreeDOS USB and update from that. For instructions how to update with DOS see the PDF in the update ZIP.
     
  6. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Guess I'm not sure what win 7 64b is. I'm running Win7 pro x64. Did I miss something?
     
  7. x1800MODMY360x

    x1800MODMY360x Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Type what command you are using here.
     
  8. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Command I'm using:

    bios_updater_x64 0B020000.103
     
  9. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    561
    Are you sure you have started the dos box with option "run as administrator"? You not only have to be an administrator, you also have to start it with this option. See also
     
  10. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the reply,
    Yes, definitely running as administrator. In fact I tried it two different ways. First used ctrl-shift-enter after typing cmd and it enters at user/username. Also tried going to Accessories, right click Command prompt, run as administrator. It enters at c:\windows/system32.
    I ran the updater both ways and the error still occurs. Also the fact that it is writing to memory during the update verifies that it is being run as administrator. When not running as administrator it does not write to memory at all.

    Is there something else I can check to find the problem? Suggestions ???????????
     
  11. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    561
    If it still fails It perhaps is easier to make a bootable FreeDOS USB and update from that. For instructions how to update with DOS see the PDF in the update ZIP.
     
  12. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I tried the FreeDos booting from a usb stick. Took a while to get it done. Same result.
     
  13. Maurice

    Maurice Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    87
    Time to contact customer support.
     
  14. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    561
    Yep
     
  15. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Looked on udoo.org but don't see customer support or entering a trouble ticket. How do I get to customer support?
     
  16. itimpi

    itimpi UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    33
    Go to the bottom of the main UDOO home page and there is a Customer Care link that takes you to a page where you can raise a support ticket
     
  17. Intermez

    Intermez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, appreciate it. Somehow I missed it...duh!
     

Share This Page