Computer statistics into Arduino

Discussion in 'General Programming Discussion' started by Laces, Jul 24, 2017.

1. Laces

Laces New Member

Hi all, I'm a complete noob with Arduino but I had built myself a decent raspberry pi laptop with a raspberry pi and would like to have some of the monitoring on the upgraded version I'm putting together with the x86. The primary ones in interested in now are CPU temp and load, I currently have the pi lighting an LED to blue when the temp is approximately room temp and shifting to red as it approaches the upper safe range 86°c I think but I don't recall off the top of my head) and for load it shifts an LED from dim to bright as the load rises. The first absolute simple question (I honestly haven't looked for this part yet, but thought maybe someone would know) is whether the x86 has a sensor for CPU temp? The more complex question that I've tried to find some info about without success (it's possible that I've looked at the answer and just didn't realize what it was) is how to actually get the data from the Linux side to the Arduino side in a relatively efficient manner. My thought was to have a script on the Linux side that would run the commands to get the information and then either save it to a location available to the Arduino or push it into the Arduino somehow (I don't know how yet...). Any suggestions for execution or resources for really clear instructions would be great
    Thanks
    David

2. waltervl

waltervl UDOOer

For something simple as CPU temperature indication I would stick to Linux only. The Udoo X86 CPU has an internal temperature sensor for each core.

To measure the CPU with a bash script Google for it. You need the Linux distro and version in the search string, example: Ubuntu 16.04 bash CPU temp