Getting Started: Migrating from PCs/PLCs to Mini-PCs

Discussion in 'UDOO 101' started by AmenRa, Oct 18, 2013.

1. AmenRa

AmenRa New Member

Hi all!

This is my first dive into using Mini-PC's. I am a PLC and PC programmer and have been writing software on both systems for some time. Writing programs isn't my issue. However, my company is looking into combining the PLC and PC and we have been reading about mini computers for sometime. We develop automated machines and use limit switches, light curtains, relays, motors (and motor controllers) and hydraulics.

We are waiting four our UDOO Quad to arrive. What do we need, if anything, to work with the following:

1) Limit switch inputs (digital/binary input)
    2) Binary output (to actuate relays and motor starters)
    3) Analog output (control proportional hydraulic valve)
    4) Analog inputs

2. firehopper

firehopper Member

I'm not sure your going to need a lot.. maybe a blank arduino due compatable shield to make your analog conditioning circutry, and wireing for all the inputs and outputs. and so that you can disconnect the udoo if needed. other than that, I think this should do what you want easily :)

3. mkopack

mkopack Member

What Firehopper said...

Depending on how many inputs/outputs we're talking about, you might want to look for one of the "Mega" size protoshields. Then you can do all your connections on that and easily attach it to or remove it from the udoo.

The Limit Switch binary inputs are easy, so long as you do any voltage conversion to keep them within 0V (off) - 3.3V (on).

The binary output similarly.

The analog outputs are only doable via Pulse-width modulation directly. If you need a true DAC you might need to add that on. Again 0-3.3V range.