Gparted Partitions

Discussion in 'UDOO 101' started by joemcder, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. joemcder

    joemcder New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I am using a 16G micro SD card, I wanted to use all the space. Reluctant to mess with the 1st partition, I simply created another as an 8G ext3 filesystem labelled 'p2'. On reboot I found the new partion mounted as /media/p2.

    Why was the partion automatically mounted? Im not complaining, just trying to understand what is happening during the boot process.

    If I had wanted to rezize the 1st partition from 8G to 16G how do I use Gparted safely? Can you resize the boot partion on line?
     
  2. mkopack

    mkopack Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah you can do a live update.

    Open gparted

    Delete the 2nd partition.

    Then resize the first one to use the full size.

    Commit the changes.
     
  3. joemcder

    joemcder New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You.
     
  4. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    9
    We're also going to release a tool that allows you to autoresize the partition to his maximum size.
     
  5. DracoLlasa

    DracoLlasa UDOOer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    awesome news, i was hoping for this
     
  6. Lifeboat_Jim

    Lifeboat_Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is most welcome!
     
  7. ndzinn

    ndzinn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    FYI, I wasn't able to resize the boot partition with GParted while booted on that partition, but it worked just fine when I moved the microSD card to a USB slot. Of course, this requires two SD cards with the OS.
     
  8. bhakta

    bhakta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 64gb microSD, I had problems with fat32 limits and the image cut that to 6gb. On a windows machine I used fat32format to get it to 64gb and keep it fat32. I put the image on the card with win32diskimager. Then used another free utility paragon partition manager to resize it to 64gb.

    Hope this helps others.
     

Share This Page