GPIO VS Arduino direct control

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Luce, Dec 10, 2013.

1. Luce

Luce New Member

Hi All! I am new to UDOO and I am waiting to open UDOO box and turn on my own board!

I have a couple of questions about GPIO and his performances/limits.
    • Can i do the same things that i do with Arduino with GPIO? Or there are something that i can't do and i must use arduino instead of GPIO?
      what about performances of GPIO controls, reads and writes? Are there faster than arduino's?
      Reading from Arduino, passing it from serial to i.MX6 and output is slower than reading direcly from GPIO? And what about writing?

Thanks to anyone who will help me :)

2. Lifeboat_Jim

Lifeboat_Jim New Member

Welcome.

• I think you're confused. The UDOO is a dual/quad ARM9 and a SAM3X8E which is an Arduino Due compatible clone.

GPIO is General Purpose Input/Output.

So I have no idea what you believe you can and cannot do. Perhaps it's best if you explain what your planning to do.

As above, the SAM3X8E is and Ardiono Due. The fastest Arduino available (many times faster).

Again, I don't know to what information you refer. Perhaps you could link the article you quote from and explain your concern.

3. EBrown

EBrown New Member

You can do the same things with the digital GPIO's in both the i.MX6 and the SAM3X. (Arduino and CPU) However, you can not measure or signal analogue signals with the i.MX6 (computer). This being said, there are ways to work around it, which I will be working on when I get time on Thursday and Friday.

Thanks,
    EBrown

4. Luce

Luce New Member

@EBrown thanks! Good work, then! I hope you will share your job :D
    @Lifeboat_Jim 2 examples.

Example 1 (looping):

Scenario A) Arduino sketch;

• SAM3X reads value from PIN X
      SAM3X turns on/off a led on PIN Y corresponding to red value from PIN X

Scenario B) C, C++, script shell, script in other language on ARM9:

• ARM9 reads value from PIN X (GPIO)