GPS under Android... again

Discussion in 'Android' started by objectr, Apr 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. objectr

    objectr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    I bought the Global Sat ND 105 C GPS USB Dongle for use with my Quad, but when launching the You Are Here GPS app, It won't find the position. 'Not Fixed' at Latitude, Longitude and Accuracy.

    Any Idea how to fix this issue?


    Thank you guys!
     
  2. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Andrea Rovai likes this.
  3. objectr

    objectr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you! where exactly does the usb dongle mount?
    I copied the armeabi gps.default.so into the lib/hw folder, added the lines to the build.prop file and set the baud rate to 4800.
    Can't set the name as I only got the Vendor ID and Product ID.
     
  4. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device name = port name (ex. ttyUSB0)
     
  5. objectr

    objectr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    How can I find the port name in Android?
    did it work with yours under ttyUSB0?
     
  6. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. objectr

    objectr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    did that before, and I am only getting
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0424:2514

    seems like there is no driver loaded for the device?
    I will give it a shot, as I don't have a SATA drive connected your image won't work?
     
  8. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. objectr

    objectr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    but basically I could simply connect a SATA drive and it will/should work?
     
  10. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes, but the drive have to be emty , and ext4 ..
     
  11. mdcostas

    mdcostas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello idorel77

    I estadocon the ROM you've shared (android_4.4.2_gps_touch_sata), but the GPS does not work me, Android does not detect it. The dongle with which'm testing is the "GlobalSat nd-105c".

    Do you have any idea because it can be, or if I'm doing something wrong?

    Thank you very much.
     
  12. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi @mdcostas did you modify build.prop as your gps needs?
    you should find wich port and baud rate your gps need and then modify buld.prop.

    you can test your gps on linux , i think is easy.
     
  13. mdcostas

    mdcostas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi.

    Thank @idorel77

    I'm trying to modify the file with RootExplorer, riding with permissions R / W and after all I keep writing and tells me that the changes have been saved, but if I open the changes have disappeared.

    I also connect from Putty but can not find any editor with which to make changes (nano, vi, ...)

    How do I edit that file?
     
  14. idorel77

    idorel77 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. mdcostas

    mdcostas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Andrea Rovai likes this.

Share This Page