Green led blinking / UDOO won't boot [Official discussion]

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by andcmp, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. desks791

    desks791 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have just received my UDOO Quad, I am having the same problem, I could boot up with Android but not with UDOObuntu, have created a ticket for this since about a week ago with no answer, so i am trying here to see if anyone could provide the solution, thanks.
     
  2. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    9
    Re: Green led blinking / UDOO won't boot [Official discussio

    Hi desks791,

    i see our support team is taking a good care of you ;)
     
  3. Yehia

    Yehia New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello ,

    I am facing exactly the same problem . Created a ticket and waiting for your reply .

    Thanks
     
  4. itconsulting

    itconsulting New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem just received my UDOO and won't boot... I try with many Image Debian Jessie and official UDOO ubuntu same problem my UDOO won't boot only green LED...

    Impossible to unzip Debian wheezy image the .zip when I try to unzip image I have systematically .cpgz file same in command line..
    Archive: udoo_dual_android_v4.4.2-1.0.zip
    warning [udoo_dual_android_v4.4.2-1.0.zip]: 76 extra bytes at beginning or within zipfile
    (attempting to process anyway)
    error [udoo_dual_android_v4.4.2-1.0.zip]: reported length of central directory is
    -76 bytes too long (Atari STZip zipfile? J.H.Holm ZIPSPLIT 1.1
    zipfile?). Compensating...
    skipping: udoo_dual_android_v4.4.2-1.0.img need PK compat. v4.5 (can do v2.1)

    I try to download with other navigator with many Image from your website all is invalid...!!!!!
    Only Jessie and Official Ubuntu is unzip with success but the UDOO won't boot !!!!!
     
  5. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Hi there all,
    here's an how-to guide to manage these issues:

    verify the validity of the .zip file downloaded using the related SHA1 checksum you can find under the download link:
    http://www.udoo.org/downloads/#tab1

    You can check the sha1 value of the .zip file using the command "sha1sum" on Linux or with a software like "MD5 & SHA Checksum Utility" on Windows. If the checksum isn't the same, please download the file again.

    If this works, connect through serial and verify that in the serial there are no logs in the serial.

    If neither this solution works, then open a ticket and we'll take care of it through the Customer Care.
     
  6. itconsulting

    itconsulting New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for you answer.
    I re download xtime the image file evry time I have bad .zip file ! :( I try Mirror EU, SourceForge and Torrent and same the result...
    Only offical Ubuntu and Jessie work but my UDOO won't boot I have only green LED stay light...
     
  7. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Your welcome.
    The problem of your failing while unzipping the files may depend on the official zipper provided by default.
    Meaning that you should not use the standard unzipper this time: try 7zip instead or non-official unzippers.
    Anyway, have you verified the sha1? Have you verify what's in the serial? If there are errors in the serial, share them with us please.
     
    itconsulting likes this.
  8. itconsulting

    itconsulting New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything is OK now I unzip with 7zX on Mac and I re create new bootable SD card. My UDOO Dual boot now
    Thank you for your answer :)
     
  9. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Your welcome!
     
  10. Gerhard Landsmann

    Gerhard Landsmann New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...my story is not a new one, after having read through all this boot issues.
    The story: I flashed UDOObunto and Android for my quad on two 16GB SD-cards.
    Neither boots, also here the LED stays constantly green.
    The power supply is a generic 12V/2,2A supply.
    Also USB-monitoring does not reveal any activity...
    ...I hoped to find a fix here.
    Did anybody got his issue fixed (except for the one having had issues with his zip-tool)?
    kr, Gerhard
     
  11. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
  12. Gerhard Landsmann

    Gerhard Landsmann New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue is solved now.
    Root cause was a wrong flashing of the OS (to SDC1 instead of SDC).
    My part of this thread can be closed.
     
  13. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Cool! Happy you solved it!
     
  14. Ibrahimjp

    Ibrahimjp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Andcmp
    You're absolutely right.
    I got angry on my UDOO first, but now it seem an adopter ability problem only :)

    Thanks a lot
     
    Andrea Rovai likes this.
  15. Ghofrane

    Ghofrane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Im also facing the same issue with quad core. Board was working for few days, we build an image using the source and tried booting with same, but it doesn't boot . Here after board shows below

    Green light is steady
    Black screen when connected to HDMI screen.
    Cannot see anything when connected via terminal and serial port.
    Using supplied 12V 2A power supply.

    Is something wrong with board?

    Regards
     
  16. Ibrahimjp

    Ibrahimjp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    For my dual board, I got rid of the annoy freezing and hanging only after I feed my board with 12v ( 5A ).
    Display Screen should has an enough power also, otherwise it may disturb the HDMI input signals lead to return freezing.
     
  17. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Dear @Ibrahimjp ,
    could you please elaborate? Were you using our 12V 2A power supply? Were you using HDMI or LVDS?
    Dear @Ghofrane ,
    you should focus on the uboot, since your board doesn't boot. Have you followed our guide while building your own image?
     
  18. Ibrahimjp

    Ibrahimjp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Andrea Rovai
    Well, I'v gotten my conclusion after i did try and error with my UDOO dual board.

    1) 12V 0.8A wasn't enough to the board ( any download or extraction causes freezing/hang).
    2) 12V 2A with low powered display cause a freezing to my screen as well( alt+F2 didn't work due to power cut after on the keyboard )

    But when I moved to a better display and 12V 5A was used with board....everything become perfect

    This is my experience
     
  19. Ghofrane

    Ghofrane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I have followed your guide while building my own image.
    Board was working for few days and then it does not boot.
     
  20. Ibrahimjp

    Ibrahimjp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe you need to copy all important data ( if possible) from the current SD and check your board with another fresh SD card ! (With a suitable OP system).
     

Share This Page