HDMI input via GPIO

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by therandinator211, Dec 23, 2014.

  1. therandinator211

    therandinator211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I'm working on a little project with some friends and we had a question.

    I wanted to know if it's possible to input HDMI data signals through GPIO to achieve a a sort of HDMI hub using the UDOO Quad.

    Thanks in advanced guys!
     
  2. delba

    delba Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry, you cannot perform such a thing with UDOO.
     
  3. therandinator211

    therandinator211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the GPIO pins cannot input an HDMI signal at all? Could you give me a brief understanding as to why?
     
  4. vpeter

    vpeter Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    62
    Maybe because GPIO is to slow for this?
     
  5. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    31
    HDMI is 4 pairs of LVDS(low voltage differential signals) signals and a few other misc lines. GPIO is usually digital or analog.
     

Share This Page