libboost_regex 1.49 on UDOObuntu/Debian Wheezy

Discussion in 'General Programming Discussion' started by Hans55, Jan 8, 2015.

1. Hans55

Hans55 New Member

Hi

I'm new here in the forum and also on Udoo/Linux. So first, hello everybody :) I'm an electrical engineering student from Switzerland.

I have a problem using the PiAUISuite voice control from Steve Hickson (https://github.com/StevenHickson/PiAUISuite)
    First, I tried with UDOObuntu but when I want to run the voicecommand program, it gives me this error:
    "voice command: error while loading shared libraries: libboost_regex.so.1.49.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
    I found out that this version of boost isnt available on Lubuntu 12.04.

So I tried the same with Debian Wheezy, Now I can download the 1.49 version of boost, but the error is still there.

What can I do to solve this problem? Is there a file where I can change the boost version? Because on UDOObuntu I have installed 1.46.1. Or is the version given by the developer of this program?

I also can't figure out how to make rc.local run at boot on Debian Wheezy. On UDOObuntu it works perfectly so I would prefer using UDOObuntu if I can manage the boost problem.

I hope somebody can help me. And as mentioned before, unfortunately I'm not a Linux Pro :roll:

Thanks a lot and best regards :)

2. Hans55

Hans55 New Member

Nobody can help me? :shock:

3. plugwash

plugwash New Member

Hi

Can you tell me what exactly you did? did you try and compile voicecommand from source or did you use a binary from somewhere?

If a library is not being loaded for no obvious reason despite apparently existing it may be that you are trying to run a hardfloat binary on a softfloat system or vice-versa. Libraries using the wrong float ABI will be ignored.

It's technically possible to have both hardfloat and softfloat libraries on the same system using multiarch but I don't know how well that combination works in pratice.

4. Hans55