OpenEmbedded/Yocto for UDOO Boards

Discussion in 'Yocto' started by graugans, Nov 7, 2015.

  1. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    I just pushed an updated version. Some of the examples seem to gone in Jethro or needs extra magic to be activated.

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 4 mit Tapatalk
     
  2. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    I have seen this and stop my build to make a bb clean and sync, rebuild is launched ;)
     
    graugans likes this.
  3. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    Hi graugans, the compilation work fine for me, just this warning :

    WARNING: QA Issue: cinematicexperience: /cinematicexperience/usr/share/cinematicexperience-1.0/content/images/16.png is owned by uid 1000, which is the same as the user running bitbake. This may be due to host contamination [host-user-contaminated]

    I wrote the image to an sd to test it. It boot, but when i want to launch an exemple it crash (see under) :

    root@udooneo:/usr/share/qt5/examples/webkitqml/flickrview# ./flickrview --platform eglfs
    QEglFSVivIntegration will set environment variable FB_MULTI_BUFFER=2 to enable double buffering and vsync.
    If this is not desired, you can override this via: export QT_EGLFS_IMX6_NO_FB_MULTI_BUFFER=1
    Could not open egl display
    Aborted
    root@udooneo:/usr/share/qt5/examples/webkitqml/flickrview# ./flickrview --platform fb
    This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "fb".

    Available platform plugins are: eglfs, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen.

    Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
    Aborted


    If i test qmake :

    root@udooneo:/usr/share/qt5/examples/webkitqml/flickrview# /usr/bin/qt5/qmake flickrview.pro
    Could not find qmake configuration file linux-g++.
    Error processing project file: flickrview.pro


    But i think this is normal --> need to use sdk for crosscompil.
     
  4. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
  5. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    That's a good question. I am not an expert on QT GUI on i.mx6 I do use Qt core on a regular basis but not GUI. Anyway it seems there is a Problem with 24bpp on Qt and i.mx6 I red somewhere you can change this by fbset. Frankly I have to investigate this as-well but have to defer this a few days.
     
    modjo likes this.
  6. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    Maybe there is an issue with mixed vivante user and kernel space versions...
     
  7. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    Yes, at-leat on UDOO Quad this was the issue. I've updated the meta-udoo. But it is untested for Neo at the moment

    $ bitbake -ccleanall virtual/kernel
    $ bitbake udoo-image-qt5


    Should provide you with a Qt app displaying something....

    # cd /usr/share/qt5/examples/webkitqml/flickrview
    # ./flickrview --platform eglfs

    To verify that you are using the yocto and not the build in vivante driver issue the following command:
    # lsmod | grep galcore
    galcore 224712 0

    If there is no line like
    galcore 224712 0

    You are probably still on built in driver....
     
  8. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    Thanks graugans, i will take a look at this ... I let you know the result
     
    graugans likes this.
  9. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    Hi, you are right :cool:, with your modification (pass to kernel 3.14.56 to 3.14.28 i seen) i can launch a gui app (i will make a better explanation tomorrow). Just a question, it seems that the usb port (Host A usb) is not working with yocto (work fine with udoobuntu, i can't have keyboard working on it), did you observe this ?
    Otherwise to generate the cross compil toolcain, can i use this

    #bitbake meta-toolchain-qt5
     
  10. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    I will check the USB host stuff. At the moment my test platform is quad I will need a HDMI switch to run both in parallel :). Anyway maybe I mixed the defconfig up or used a wrong sha1 so this causes a not working USB host.

    For the toolchain I recommend

    $ bitbake <image name> -c populate_sdk

    To get this working you need to inherit this class in your image
    https://github.com/meta-qt5/meta-qt5/blob/master/classes/populate_sdk_qt5.bbclass

    I will push this soon...

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 4 mit Tapatalk
     
  11. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    Hi graugans, first for the toolchain, i already launch a

    $ bitbake meta-toolchain-qt5 --> it seems to worked, i will test with qtcreator soon !

    Otherwise, i'm trying to build an image for the quad but i have some errors that i didn't have with neo, see under :

    i did this :

    $ repo sync
    $ MACHINE=udooqdl source ./setup-environment build --> it's the same build folder that neo
    $ MACHINE=udooqdl bitbake udoo-image-qt5


    for information on the udoo-image-qt5.bb, i add this at the end
    htop \
    nano \
    "
    I have this errors :


    ERROR: oe_runmake failed
    ERROR: Function failed: do_compile (log file is located at /media/modjo/39a50e93-4c35-4598-a6b8-9627986411e5/yocto/seco/udoo-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/qtdeclarative/5.5.1+gitAUTOINC+3e9f61f305-r0/temp/log.do_compile.1864)
    ERROR: Logfile of failure stored in: /media/modjo/39a50e93-4c35-4598-a6b8-9627986411e5/yocto/seco/udoo-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/qtdeclarative/5.5.1+gitAUTOINC+3e9f61f305-r0/temp/log.do_compile.1864



    Do you have the same issues ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
    graugans likes this.
  12. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    I had similar issues when I tried for the NEO after backing a successful quad/dual image. Needs more testing what's the problem. I just started a clean Neo build. And check USB when finished.

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 4 mit Tapatalk
     
    modjo likes this.
  13. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    For the clean, you launch this :

    bitbake -ccleanall udoo-image-qt5
     
  14. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    I did a real clean run :cool:

    $ rm -rf bitbake.lock cache sstate-cache tmp && MACHINE=udooneo bitbake udoo-image-qt5
     
  15. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    And your compil works ?
     
  16. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    It is still running :)

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 4 mit Tapatalk
     
    modjo likes this.
  17. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    No host USB on Neo is confirmed. My image boots and my qt5-env script works too.
     
  18. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    graugans, i make a test to compil (that work) and deploy to the neo with qtcreator, but i didn't have space to the sd card. The yocto image use simply 581 Mo but i have 15Gb. How i can expand to the totally space of the card ?

    edit :
    i did this with gparted on my host machine
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
  19. graugans

    graugans Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    This is another item on the to do list. Resizing of SD card on first boot

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 4 mit Tapatalk
     
  20. modjo

    modjo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    127
    Graugans, i have some problems with the compilation toolchain (for qt creator). For the moment, i launch a new bb for udoo quad. After that i will test your script for the compilation sdk .
     

Share This Page