Reading from analog GPIOs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ImIronman, Apr 1, 2014.

1. ImIronman

ImIronman New Member

Hello,

I'm a newbie at this tech and Linux, with some decent experience on working with the Arduino and in C Programming.

I wanna obtain an analog signal in real-time from the GPIOs with ADC at, say- 10 KHz sample rate, and store it in the form of an array/vector. I am wondering what kind of programming tools are suitable for this task. I also would like to know if the CodeBlocks IDE or PureData will of any help!

PS: I wanna do this on the iMX6 processor, and not using the Arduino/SAM3X processor.

Thank you!

2. peter247

peter247 New Member

It may be a stupid question , but does the iMX6 processor have any ADC channels ?
    I guess that's the first thing to do you get access to them at any speed .
    or use a spi adc , I think the mcp32008 ?.

3. mkopack

mkopack Member

Yeah, going on what's in the "Getting Started" manual, there is no ADC functionality provided through GPIOs to the iMX6 chip. The SAM3 provides ADC internally in it's chip, which is why the Analog in pins work. They are not usable as Analog in by the iMX6 though. (See the diagram on page 29 of the manual found in the "Downloads" section, "Documentation" tab...)

IF the SAM3 can do the sampling that fast, you could do the reading on that side, and pump the data across to the iMX6 via serial or some other interface internally. Otherwise, you'll need to use an external ADC chip and pump the digital value into the GPIO pins that the iMX6 can read.

Good luck! Let us know how you make out.

4. ImIronman

ImIronman New Member

Thank you guys! I too checked out the iMX6 datasheet and figured it out!