regular bluescreen

Discussion in 'UDOO BOLT' started by GerbenT, May 3, 2019.

  1. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    running windows 10 64bit 32gb mem 2.5"ssd / hdmi and usb-c to DP

    once or twice a day I'm getting a bluescreen error.
    with this message on the BSOD ... Stop code: DRIVER_POWER_STATE-FAILURE
    Then when entering windows there is a notification :
    Default Radeon WattMan settings have been restored due to an unexpected system failure.

    anybody else have this problem ?
     
  2. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    535
  3. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have used the drivers in the link you posted, without them there is only 800x600 and no multi screen. I have just checked your link and there does not seem to be an update available ..

    Do you happen to be running windows ?
     
  4. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    535
    I have no Bolt yet. But the error is driver related. So first suspect is the display driver....
     
    GerbenT likes this.
  5. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, its most assuredly the driver that does creates the error. Just trying to figure out why the driver does this is going to be difficult :( ... ... could be either an hardware problem or a software problem. This being a custom board make the scales tip onto the hardware side of things, only that would then only show up with other ppl as well. So looking for other ppl with windows10 and a bolt ... maybe less problems with linux anyways ... :)
     
  6. SolidGoomba

    SolidGoomba UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    13
    A few questions as I haven't experienced this issue, but have a similar set up, wouldn't mind testing on my own bolt if it's worth it.
    1. Do you have windows installed to the emmc or your SSD? (I installed to my SSD)
    2. Our setups differ in that I'm using a m.2 SSD, how are you connecting your 2.5" SSD to the bolt?
    3. Are there any programs that seem prone to having this occur when in use?
     
  7. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    My windows is on an 2.5" ssd via the sata port. I'm starting to suspect that it happens when the gpu goes into a low power mode. I can play games (borderlands / skyrim etc) without problems , youtube netflix all ok. sometimes it just goes bluescreen, and it's always a quiet period. ... When I walk away from the computer and come back after a while it's dead. At the moment there are 3 screens connected , HDMI and USB-C to DP and a USB-C hub with a DB15 connector (ye old school vga connector) ...

    There was a windows updates yesterday , so we'll have to start the diagnosing almost from scratch :)
     
  8. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    GerbenT likes this.
  9. drksilenc

    drksilenc UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    So i get the random blue screen as well. I have the v8 version and windows is installed to an m2 ssd. I have installed the drivers that are on amd's website.
     
  10. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi All, nope problem persists, using video driver 18.50.190214a and windows version 10.0.17763.475 (1809)

    and it's something about low power mode ... when I'm working there is no problems what so ever, if I get distracted or work on a different pc ... then ... bluescreen ... Is this an isolated case or can UDOO reproduce this in the lab ?

    I'm powering the board via the dc jack, 65 watt power supply ( fairly new dell laptop adapter )
     
  11. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    do you have the messages in the notification area talking about wattman ?
    and feel it might be related to periods the gpu has nothing to do ?
     
  12. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hello,

    I passed on the information to the technical team, and they're going to perform some tests.
    I will post another reply here in case the problem is related to the board and not to Widows.
     
  13. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    That would be great, I also have a V8 by the way , and let me know if i can do some tests to help (dont care about reinstalls)
     
    evaloverde likes this.
  14. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    Thank you, I'll let them know
     
  15. drksilenc

    drksilenc UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any update on this as this happens frequently and is quite annoying.
     
  16. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    I got some feedback from the tech team, and to risolve the issue they need some info:

    - What configuration are you using?
    - What RAM are you using?
    - What power supply are you using?
    - What disks are you using?
    - What is usually connected to the board when you experience this issue?
    - Can you please provide the last log before the issue happens?
    - Can you provide results of the memtest?

    I know it's a lot but it' neessary to solve your issue. Thank you for your patience.
     
  17. drksilenc

    drksilenc UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
  18. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    - What configuration are you using?
    not sure what configuration means ... it's a bolt v8 / 32mb
    - What RAM are you using?
    KHX2400C14S4 - 2 sodimms of 16GB
    - What power supply are you using?
    I have used serveral Dell power supplies with at least 65w power (at the moment its a 19.5v X 3,34A with an adapter to make it fit)
    - What disks are you using?
    There is one disk connected to the sata port , with on of those cables you sell on the website
    (so powerd by the bolt), its a samsung 940 pro
    - What is usually connected to the board when you experience this issue?
    keyboard - mouse (logitech , on same dongle) 1 screen dell 1920x1280 (hdmi - dvi cable) , GBlan cable, headphones
    or USB hub wired mouse and keyboard - 2 screens, 1920x1200 hdmi - dvi & usbC - DP , GBlan cable headphones

    - Can you please provide the last log before the issue happens?
    windows log ?

    - Can you provide results of the memtest?
    I'm assuming THE memtest is memtestx86 - that has been running now for 5 hours and has not found any error
    Clk / Temp : 2009 Mhz / 41C
    L1 Cache : 96K 82,17 GB/s
    L2 Cache : 512K 59,10 GB/s
    L1 Cache : 4096K 21,47 GB/s
    Memory : 30,9G 15,63 GB/s
    RAM info : PC4-19200 DDR4 XMP 2400MHz / 14-14-14-35 / Kingston KHX2400C14S4

    and it's using 8 cpu's

    I know it's a lot but it' neessary to solve your issue. Thank you for your patience.
    That is understandable ... i'll give it a shot
    If you have an unatended setup file for windows installations to keep setups identical send it over
    and I'll use it to install windows

    Also running steam and f-secure
    on a side note, I've noticed that I have problems shuting down sometime, screen goes of but pc stay's on. No usefull data on that because I've just now conviced myself that that is not a user error.
     
    evaloverde likes this.
  19. GerbenT

    GerbenT UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    edit .... samsung 940 pro -> samsung 840 pro
     
  20. evaloverde

    evaloverde Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi guys, sorry another question:

    Is the issue showing on Linux OS too? Have you tried switching OS by any chance?
     

Share This Page