UDOO Bolt Simultaneous USB Camera Connections Issue

Discussion in 'UDOO BOLT' started by Ervin Domazet, Feb 5, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Ervin Domazet

    Ervin Domazet UDOOer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear UDOO Community,

    We have ordered last week a UDOO V8 bolt for testing purposes. Our main aim is to check whether our Computer Vision-based project is able to run on this machine.

    We particularly plan to port our computer vision project that simultaneously streams images from 6 cameras, and processes them. This product is already tested on Laptops and Desktop computers, and it runs without any issue.

    We tested it with UDOO Bolt v8, it runs with 2 cameras. We then connect 6 cameras, with the help of two USB-C hubs ( https://shop.udoo.org/usb-c-hub.html ). However, when configuring it to run with 6 cameras(https://www.hbvcamera.com/2-Mega- Pixel-usb-cameras/hbvcam-1716-2710-s1.0.html) , the cameras do not stream at all.

    Here, I need your technical support. Is there any particular driver that we should install for this? Normally cameras are USB 2.0, so that should work perfectly. When checking the processor specs, we clearly see that it supports 6 USBs, which is the thing we are requiring. USB 1x USB 2.0, 1x USB 3.1 Gen1, 4x USB 3.1 Gen2,(https://www.amd.com/en/products/specifications/embedded/8191+11961)

    Any type of suggestion would be welcomed
     
  2. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    565
    Do you see them connecting to USB?
    What OS are you running? Windows, Linux?
    Could also be a power issue as these small boards cannot supply a lot of power to the USB ports.
    Use a powered USB hub?
    What if you plug 2 of them into empty USB ports on the Bolt itself?
     
  3. Ervin Domazet

    Ervin Domazet UDOOer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for responding. Here are my answets:

    Do you see them connecting to USB?
    - I have different software. I'm able to connect to each of the cameras individually and thus real-time stream images. The problem happens when I want to connect to 6 of them simultaneously.

    What OS are you running? Windows, Linux?
    - I run it on Windows 10 - Home, 64 Bit

    Could also be a power issue as these small boards cannot supply a lot of power to the USB ports.
    Use a powered USB hub?
    - Maybe, thats why I used also an external USB hub with power supply. Its this one(this is also used in normal desktop computer without any issue): https://natec-zone.com/product/hub-usb-3-0-natec-mantis-2-4-ports-on-off-with-ac-adapter

    - I also considered using the USB-C HUB, https://shop.udoo.org/usb-c-hub.html . Same happens again.

    What if you plug 2 of them into empty USB ports on the Bolt itself?
    - In each combination I'm able to only run 2 cameras simultaneously. So the combinations are 2 available USB ports, or using a HUB having 2 cameras inside. I tried every possible combination, regardless of the camera, the issue seems to be with the bandwith.


    -----
    Googled a bit, here are some suggestions, however still no progress:
    https://answers.opencv.org/question/4909/using-2-webcams-simultaneously/
    https://answers.opencv.org/question/94/multiple-cameras/?sort=votes
    https://answers.opencv.org/question...ure-in-opencv-from-usb-video-capture-devices/


    Finally, I also officially asked this to UDOO Technicians, and still waiting a feedback.

    Do you have additional suggestion?
     
  4. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    565
    As we do not have the electrical schemes of the bolt it is hard to say how the USB devices are managed.
    You tested it on a normal laptop (also AMD CPU/GPU?) and it runs so basically it could also run on the Bolt. I also have no idea why more than 2 usb cameras are not possible.
    Did you check in Bios if some USB or Display card options are disabled?
    For Bios options check this page and download the PDF manual https://www.udoo.org/docs-bolt/Hardware_References/Resources.html
     
  5. Ervin Domazet

    Ervin Domazet UDOOer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I tested it with a laptop and Desktop computer, which have Intel-based CPU's. They seem to run perfectly.

    Coming to the GPU, that is not that much important, since I'm not utilizing the GPU. The software just gets the image 2-3D data and interprets them. SInce I have low-level access to the OPENCV code, I can easily see that the connection is not established at all.

    I have tried to decrease the resolution of cameras to even 320x160 from 1920*1280, yet again the same happens.

    Yes, I have checked BIOS previously, but today I did a double-check. Went through all of the menus and submenus. There was an interesting option ( IOMMU (IO Memory Management Unit. Also known as AMD Virtualization Technology) , I also enabled that one. I also tried Overclocking of the device. Again no success.

    The next steps which I have in mind is to have an M2 -> PCE adapter, attach it to the available slot:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32887495781.html

    On top of it, having a PCI Riser with 4 parallel USB 3.0 connections.
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32849517920.html

    I'm already able to connect max 2 cameras, with this extra PCI board I will try to run the remaining 4 cameras. Will keep you updated if this succeds.
     

Share This Page