UDOO Neo Arduino UART Baud Rate

Discussion in 'UDOO NEO' started by bhongtip, Nov 1, 2016.

  1. bhongtip

    bhongtip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I use Udoo Neo Arduino core (Serial0) send message through UART at baudrate 230400, bit parity Even?

    I do simple testing connect Udoo Neo's UART to PC com port, program Udoo Neo Arduino to send 'hello world' every 100 msec. and let PC monitor it.

    whenever I try Serial0.begin(baud, SERIAL_8E1) no matter how much baud I use (9600, 115200 or 230400) , I got error message from UDOO Arduino UART. However, if I change to Serial0.begin(baud) , even baud is 230400, my PC get message from Udoo Neo's Arduino correctly.

    is there any problem with using bit parity in Udoo Neo's Arduino core?
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2016
  2. Francesco

    Francesco Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hi. Can you report the full error when using Serial0.begin(baud, SERIAL_8E1)?
     
  3. bhongtip

    bhongtip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no error when compile. To check result, I connect my Window laptop's Comport to UDOO's M4 UART and check result from Hyperterminal.

    below is Arduino code

    void setup()
    {
    Serial0.begin(230400);
    }
    void loop()
    {
    Serial0.println("hello world");
    delay(100);
    }

    my PC hyperterminal get "hello world"

    However, if I change to Serial0.begin(230400, SERIAL_8E1); I got nothing at PC's hyperterminal.

    Even I try with slower baud like, Serial0.begin(9600) vs Serial0.begin(9600, SERIAL_8E1), the result is similar ( get correct text from parity none but nothing from parity even)
     
  4. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    31

    Are you changing the settings on the other side as well?(Other computer)
     
  5. bhongtip

    bhongtip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I did change PC's hyperterminal UART parameter respect to UDOO M4 UART setting.
    The image I upload is comparison between Serial0.begin(9600) vs Serial0.begin(9600,SERIAL_8E1).
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page