UDOOBuntu 2 beta 3 for UDOO Quad released

Discussion in 'Linux Ubuntu' started by Francesco, Nov 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    I was able to extract, copy image file to uSD card and BOOT my UDOO quad with Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS using a Winblows computer to do the unzip, copy *.img file to uSD card. But no GUI, all output was over a USB port to a Ubuntu computer running minicom. On the monitor connected to the UDOO, I see the UDOO logo briefly. Bummer this version still can't use SATA drives. Is there documentation on how to get a GUI running with this version of Ubuntu? Is there documentation on setting up a uSD card with a Ubuntu x86 computer? I thought it was sudo dd if=*.img of=/dev/sd*.
     
  2. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    I don't understand why UDOO corporate would release a newer version of Ubuntu with less functionality. Please explain, if you can.
     
  3. ottyphc

    ottyphc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this going to be fixed? If so when?
     
  4. udoo4music

    udoo4music New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    HI,
    the problem with HDMI is a problem of identifying the monitor correctly.
    E.g. on my Samsumg TV I get a black screen, no signal. The monitor is set to 1920x1080i. The TV works not with interlaced mode on hdmi.
    On an older monitor with hdmi to dvi adapter I get a signal with 640x480p. Very poor. With udoobuntu1 it is 1920x1200p.
    So the question is, how to overwrite the automatic monitor detection.
    Something like "video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1920x1080M@60,if=RGB24" in uboot setenv as well as in uEnv.txt does not work. No effect.
    Does anyone have an idea how to set a fixed monitor setup to work around this pitfall of the automatic detection.
    It would be great.
    C.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
  5. rafalsw

    rafalsw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have the similar problem with identification of monitor and setting proper resolution. My monitor is Asus MW-201U with HDMI - DVI cable (native resolution - 1680x1050).
    My /boot/uEnv.txt file looks like:
    fdt_file=dts/imx6q-udoo-hdmi.dtb
    video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1680x1050MR@60,if=RGB24,bpp=32
    and does not work.
    I noticed such records in system logs:
    udooer@udoo:~$ dmesg |grep mxc
    [ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttymxc1,115200 mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1680x1050MR@60,if=RGB24,bpp=32 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootwait rw
    [ 0.245014] mxc_hdmi 20e0000.hdmi_video: Detected HDMI controller 0x13:0xa:0xa0:0xc1
    [ 0.245150] mxc_sdc_fb fb.24: registered mxc display driver hdmi IPU1_DISP0
    [ 0.245161] mxc_sdc_fb fb.24: registered mxc display driver hdmi

    I think it looks ok but in /var/log/Xorg.0.log file:
    [ 9.529] (II) VIVANTE(0): using default device
    [ 9.530] (WW) VGA arbiter: cannot open kernel arbiter, no multi-card support
    [ 9.530] (II) VIVANTE(0): Device preferred mode 'fb0':V:640x480p-60

    ....
    [ 9.696] (II) VIVANTE(0): printing discovered frame buffer 'fb0' supported m
    odes:
    [ 9.697] (II) VIVANTE(0): Modeline "V:640x480p-60"x0.0 25.20 640 656 752
    800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync -csync (31.5 kHz eP)
    [ 9.697] (II) VIVANTE(0): Modeline "V:640x480p-60"x0.0 25.20 640 656 752
    800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync -csync (31.5 kHz eP)
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Output DISP3 BG has no monitor section
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Printing probed modes for output DISP3 BG
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Modeline "V:640x480p-60"x60.0 25.20 640 656 752
    800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync -csync (31.5 kHz eP)
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Output DISP3 BG connected
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Using exact sizes for initial modes
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): Output DISP3 BG using initial mode V:640x480p-60
    [ 9.736] (II) VIVANTE(0): imxDisplayPreInit: virtual set 640 x 480, display width 0

    still is 640x480 resolution. One more log:
    udooer@udoo:~$ sudo i2cdump -f -y 1 0x50
    No size specified (using byte-data access)
    0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 a b c d e f 0123456789abcdef
    00: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 04 69 b1 20 31 8a 00 00 ........?i? 1?..
    10: 08 11 01 03 80 2b 1b 78 2a 8c 30 a6 55 46 9d 25 ?????+?x*?0?UF?%
    20: 14 50 54 bf ef 80 71 4f 81 80 81 40 81 4f 81 cf ?PT???qO???@?O??
    30: 95 00 90 40 b3 00 21 39 90 30 62 1a 27 40 18 b0 ?.?@?.!9?0b?'@??
    40: 36 40 b1 0e 11 00 00 1c 00 00 00 fd 00 37 4b 2f 6@???..?...?.7K/
    50: 51 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 ff 00 37 Q?.? .....7
    60: 32 4c 38 30 33 35 33 37 37 0a 20 20 00 00 00 fc 2L8035377? ...?
    70: 00 4d 57 32 30 31 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 9e .MW201? .?
    80: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    90: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    a0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    b0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    c0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    d0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    e0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    f0: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................

    Anyone have idea how to fix this ?
    Regards
    Rafal
    P.S.
    In my system /etc/edid.txt file is missing.
     
  6. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Dear @sirrab,
    are you saying the GUI doesn't work with UDOObuntu 2 RC1 on UDOO NEO/DUAL/QUAD? Have you tried the latest version of the OS?
     
  7. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    That is correct. The latest attempt, I see the UDOO logo briefly, then a black screen. Using minicom, I see the UDOO quad does boot up, and asks for a login.(udooer/udooer) Isn't UDOObuntu 2 RC1 the latest version???
     
  8. Bert

    Bert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, thanks for the new V2 rc1 version.

    But, on Bert, Dec 27, 201
    in this thread I wrote about problems with mu Samsung 24"monitor not being recognized by rhe Monitor Settings app.
    So I was curious if this was fixed. How disapointing!!! The problem still exists.

    Is there anyone who could explain me how i can set the s\display specs in Udoobuntu??

    Regards, Bert
     
  9. Theflorianmaas

    Theflorianmaas UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    You could try to create the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and put inside something like this:

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "SyncMaster730BF"
    Modeline "1280x1024@60" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "i.MX Accelerated Framebuffer Device"
    Monitor "SyncMaster730BF"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024@60"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "i.MX Accelerated Framebuffer Device"
    Driver "vivante"
    Option "fbdev" "/dev/fb0"
    Option "vivante_fbdev" "/dev/fb0"
    Option "HWcursor" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "BlankTime" "0"
    Option "StandbyTime" "0"
    Option "SuspendTime" "0"
    Option "OffTime" "0"
    EndSection

    ...and change the resolution according to your monitor specs.
    It worked with my old Samsung monitor.

    Cheers
     
  10. udoo4music

    udoo4music New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Info: I got my TV at hdmi working with udoobuntu2 RC1 using 1920x1080M@30
    setting in uEnv.txt is: "video=video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1920x1080M@30,if=RGB24"
     
    SO_yeah likes this.
  11. SO_yeah

    SO_yeah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    It worked for me with a ASUS VX229H, I can finally enjoy RC1!!! Thank you so muuuuuch!!!
     
  12. mocho

    mocho New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    When a final version with hardware accelerated video player ??? It was promissed to November!!! 2016, 2017 or 2058????
     
  13. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
  14. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    This worked for my LG 23MP55HA monitor! Yay!
     
  15. Bert

    Bert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Theflorianmaas
    Using the command xandr -q I found out that the display name is DISP3 BG
    Then i found that UDOOBuntu v2 rc1 uses uboot which has the /boot/uEnv.txt file to support boot options.
    In /boot/uEnv.txt, I tried several display options and this is the one that works fine now:
    video='DISP3 BG':1920x1200@60
    Notice the single quotes because there was a space in the display name.

    BTW, my display is an Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW, which has a DVI input. The cable i use is a HDMI-DVI cable. This combination worked just fine with Lubuntu for UDOO, There the display was beautifully recognized with all its resolutoin modes.
    Now with the use of the parms in uEnv.txt, UdooBuntu v2 rc1 recognizes also all display resolution modes from my display.

    Do'nt ask why, just take advantage of it...
    Regards, Bert
     
  16. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31

    How about sources? How about SATA support?
     
  17. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
  18. Zeus

    Zeus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think that this is an acceptable answer. Most of us bought the board because it was advertised with SATA support. Also there was boot from sata available earlier which got later removed.
    We would like to know a defined schedule along with what features are planned for which release.
    Udoo is a well designed board but the mainstream adoption is hindered because of the lack of software support and extremely slow release cycles.
     
  19. orfeus

    orfeus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agree with Zeus,

    you just said that QUAD users will not give any update in near future.

    Now I feel that its time to leave the sinking boat. Good HW, terrible SW support ..
     
  20. Andrea Rovai

    Andrea Rovai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    240
    Dear friends,
    no, I'm not saying we are deprecating QUAD.
    Anyway, fresh news: we will soon support the boot from SATA :)
    But first we want to focus on solving the HDMI issues. That's why we are not calling this OS just UDOObuntu 2 but still RC1.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page