Windows 10 not booting properly from EMMC 32gig

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Tim B, Jun 11, 2017.

1. Tim B

Tim B New Member

When I turn on the UdooX86 it displays "An operating system wasn't found. Try disconnecting any drives that don't contain an operating system. Press any key to restart.
    I hit space bar.
    It than show hit any key within 6 seconds to skip dskcheck.
    I hit space bar.
    It than boots into windows 10.
    I loaded windows from 8 gb USB drive with firmware version .101 after about 8 tries it loaded.
    Have since updated firmware using the windows instructions command prompt to 102. Took me over an hour to update - couldn't figure out how to navigate to the right folder on the drive so used a USB drive with nothing but bios and contents from x64 folder ( no actual folders on USB drive so when I switched DIr to that drive was able to see the commands.
    Any suggestions on getting it to boot properly. I have limited experience tinkering around - specfic instructions will be needed.

2. bodgyuk

bodgyuk New Member

Tim, Once you are in Windows, open up Windows Disk Management and have a look at what hidden partitions the Windows installer has laid down. It is possible that the boot sequence is not correct in the disk layout.

The other thing to check is has the eMMC been marked as Active? Normally if the OS disk is not marked as active, you get a no OS found error, but it might be that the BIOS can actually see the eMMC card which is why you can eventually boot to Windows.

3. Tim B

Tim B New Member

There was a 0 partition -2gb
    The emmc was not active - I made it active - now it won't boot at all.
    Any suggestions

4. Jetguy

Jetguy Member