YMMV: powering Arduino 101 all the time

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by ccs_hello, Aug 5, 2017.

  1. ccs_hello

    ccs_hello UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    193
    IGNORE THIS POST, now that BIOS 1.03 is released.




    Have seen enough posts on asking firmware 1.03 fix...

    For the impatient, perform the following hardware fix to shun two circuit paths
    (Both "always_on 3.3V" and "always_on 5V" power rails
    supply power to Arduino 101 all the time.)
    <-- add two bypass links (pink lines) UDOO_101power.jpg

    Naturally YMMV and take your own risk on warranty issues and it's for hard-core geeks only.

    ccs_hello
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
    Ryan Lewkowicz likes this.
  2. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    32
    This would seem safer using a blocking diode. I can't imagine tying 3.3v to a 5v rail is a good thing.
     
  3. ccs_hello

    ccs_hello UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    193
    Modified my OP to read
    (Both "always_on 3.3V" and "always_on 5V" power rails
    supply power to Arduino 101 all the time.)
     
  4. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    32
    Still, tying 2 different power rails together is not a good idea.
     
  5. bpr

    bpr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7

Share This Page