Supplying power to 3.5 inch hdd

Discussion in 'UDOO X86' started by Gronis, May 6, 2017.

  1. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    580
  2. lukashann

    lukashann New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh right, I see, thank you so much. But if I just rig up a sata power connector to CN12 which has 12V, GND, GND, 5V even in that order it should work, right?
     
  3. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    580
    It could work if your drive does not use too much current. You better hook up the 12V for SATA directly from an external 12V source.
     
  4. lukashann

    lukashann New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if I just use a higher current power supply? say 5A instead of 3A. Could I break the Udoo by sending too much current through the 12V rail?
     
  5. waltervl

    waltervl UDOOer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    580
    Yes, you can take that risk and destroy your board if it goes wrong. You better make a power wire for Udoo and HDD like someone did and explained earlier in this thread. Costs to make are nothing compared to a destroyed Udoo board.
    Udoo did not connect that SATA 12V connector for a reason (overload the 12V rail)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
  6. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    32
    That will work with 3.5" drives, assuming the UDOO has the current available.
     
  7. sirrab

    sirrab UDOOer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    32
    Nevermind!
     
  8. Ndrandloop

    Ndrandloop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    On page 17 of the manual I find written that the maximum consumption in stress test is
    1008mA 1020mA 906mA
    so we should be able to associate a hdd3.5

    So I was thinking, if I took the 12v from the fan connector? It's possible?
     
  9. ccs_hello

    ccs_hello UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    190
    No.
    1) It is not always on, and
    2) You don't want to burn that tiny MOSFET (save pennies and risk hundreds)
     
    Ndrandloop likes this.
  10. Ndrandloop

    Ndrandloop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3,5 inches, plugged by USB3 rack (https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B0725Z3BZV) but i cannot see it in windows 10. It was seen as "EXTERNAL USB3.0 SCSI DISK DEVICE" in device list.
     
  11. ccs_hello

    ccs_hello UDOOer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    190
    3139U3 needs a standalone/separate 12V external DC power feed.
    Per datasheet http://www.orico.cc/goods.php?id=6478
    under Win 10, USAP protocol is supported. Not sure Win 10 needs to fetch the driver for that or not.

    ccs_hello
     

Share This Page